BlogAugust 5, 2005It’s been hard getting into a

Blog

August 5, 2005

It’s been hard getting into a regular writing routine since moving into our new home in Roseburg.  I’ve felt like I’ve really had to push myself to go into my office and do something with my writing.

Mostly I’ve been submitting Lily to agents.  I also felt like I’d lost my ability to write fiction, so I put what I had written on Gillian’s Heart (3 chapters of a contemporary romance) into the computer.  Now I need to work on it to try and make it better. 

I’m also preparing for the Maui Writers Conference in September; the conference was a parting gift from Hydesville Community Church.

I really like being retired, reading, decorating and keeping the house looking nice.  Too bad I’m paranoid about social security not being enough to live on.  I’ll probably look for a part-time job after we get back from Maui. 

October 4, 2005

Lily has been on the back burner, other than submitting it to Steeple Hill and agents. 

Since the Maui Conference, I’ve concentrated on querying regional publications for a piece on Royal Family Kids’ Camp.

Nothing much is happening.  Still making arrangements with Umpqua Community College about teaching my course, How to be a Published Writer, scheduled for October 29th.

I’m not spending as many hours as I think I should on my writing career.  I really like being retired.  I am researching kid’s mystery writing by reading a couple of them.  I have an idea for one.

 Because of my paranoia about social security not providing enough money to live on, I began a part-time job as a SMART (Start Making a Reader Today) Coordinator. It’s an Oregon reading program for elementary children (K-3rd grade). It’s a great program with one-on-one relationships between a child and an adult volunteer. The children receive two books a month to keep for their personal home library. The teacher chooses which children to be in the program; sometimes the reason is that the children will benefit from spending a half an hour with a caring adult. My job is to recruit, train and schedule volunteers and that’s right up my alley with my experience in Children’s Ministry.  

(I did it for three years, until they stopped paying the SMART coordinators and expected them to do it on a volunteer basis. It was too big of a job and wore me out. I still volunteer and read to the children, but I’m no longer a coordinator.)

After moving to Oregon I experienced a huge dip in my writing career. I wasn’t being published nor selling anything.

2005 – 2006

I experienced a dry spell. When I left Humboldt County I was writing and publishing regularly for the Times-Standard and I enjoyed it. After moving to Oregon it was like my publishing hit a downward spiral. I joined a local writing group, An Association of Writers (AAW) because they planned to publish an anthology and I thought that was the only way I was going to get published. An excerpt from Lily and one from a new novel, Sweet Charity, which I’d started after moving to Oregon made it into print in Inkstorm, published in 2007.

I also taught classes at Umpqua Community College.

During the summer of 2006, I concentrated on writing Gilliam’s Heart, a contemporary romance. I used the book, No Plot? No Problem! A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days. It took me two months to write 41,000 words. (I’m not prolific.) I enjoyed the experience and hope to someday see it publish.

Published in: on July 1, 2013 at 11:07 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjbassett.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/blogaugust-5-2005its-been-hard-getting-into-a/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

