May 31, 2004 Memorial DayWOW!  I can’t believe it. 

May 31, 2004 

Memorial Day

WOW!  I can’t believe it.  I finally finished the rewrite I was working on.  I probably will need to go through it again, and possibly again.  But, I’ve got to stop sometime.  I think I’m going to try to market it for a while and see what happens.  Yippee!  Hurrah!  Happy, happy, happy.

I think I started this rewrite in January of 2003—that’s 16 months ago.

Another big boost is that I had the carpet, windows, and curtains cleaned and the outside of the house washed.  I took clutter out of my writing room and I’m not about to put it back. I’m sorting, organizing, and throwing away also.  Another yippee!

June 23, 2004

I sent Lily to Nick Harrison at Harvest House Publishers and to literary agents, Michael Larsen and Elizabeth Pomada.  I’ve also researching agents.  I put my agent rejections in alphabetical order so it will be easy to look them up while reading the most up-to-date info on them in Jeff Herman’s agent book.  I’ve accumulated 77 rejections from agents over the years, and I have at least 65 possibilities to submit to.  What a job.

I’ve been a little melancholy lately.  It’s been overcast for days.  Daddy died three years ago, the day after father’s day.  Royal Family Kids’ Camp is going on, and I’m not at camp with them.  Maybe it’s because of all of the rejections from agents.  Who knows? Maybe it’s none of these things. 

I’m feeling tired and achy.  I stayed up until 1:00 AM this morning— that could be a really good reason for being tired.  Feeling achy is probably age and arthritis.  Moan, moan, moan.

February 20, 2005

I don’t know what has happened since the last time I made an entry . . .  except major life changes.  We sold our beautiful Victorian home in Fortuna, California, Gallbladder surgery in December, moving out of the house on February 5th, temporarily lived in a travel trailer for three months, and the purchased of a new manufactured home in Roseburg, Oregon.

I also think that the reason I didn’t consistently submit Lily was because I was disappointed in Nick’s and an agent’s lack of interest in it.  I felt discouraged.  I did make some changes; hopefully, to correct the beginning from moving so slow, but I was also disappointed in the changes I made, because I liked it the way it was originally. 

Will Lily ever be published? Read?

I’ll continue to try to sell Lily as is and soon start on a new book—possibly one with a Maui setting, a historical with missionaries, forbidden love . . .

June 30, 2005

Okay, Lily.  I’m not sure if I’ve found my voice or not.  What say you?

“I say, get off your butt and submit the damn manuscript.  It was my voice all along.”

Published in: on June 24, 2013 at 8:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjbassett.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/may-31-2004-memorial-daywow-i-cant-believe-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

