Blog #14The Writing of LilyAn Unedited Journal(Blog #1

Blog #14

The Writing of Lily

An Unedited Journal

(Blog #1 Starts in January with the Introduction)

The trial chapter still needs work of rearranging the scenes before it is completed.  I’m seeing an end to the first draft after all these years, probably over 20 years now.  What a project!  I really hope it’s good when it’s finished and that it sees publication. 

I received my only royalty check of $37.53 for Amigos from Kid’s in Between (publisher).  The money in this business is the pits.

I had a piece on the Godinho family—“The Humboldt County Blue Ribbon Family” for The Beacon.  I wrote my 2003 proposed Children’s Ministry budget and my August 2002 church board report.  Now I must set everything aside and get ready for Melanie and my precious grandsons to arrive for a visit on Monday, I’m so excited!

August 17, 2002

Enjoyed the Humboldt County Fair one day and Swimmer’s Delight (The Eel River) another day.  Melanie and the boys left yesterday morning and Ed and I went to work.  I had Deanna Enos (friend) over for lunch today.  Tomorrow is work and then Monday—oh Monday—will I be able to write?

August 20, 2002

I can’t believe it!  After over 20 years, I have just finished the first draft of Lily.  I thought I’d feel elated, but I can’t really say I’m elated.  I think I’m more concerned if it’s good enough, and if it will ever see publication.  I guess I should be thankful I’ve come this far. The end really came faster than I originally thought it would.  I thought I’d have about 300 (double spaced) pages and I only have 229.

August 22, 2002

I did one more minor edit before sending copies to Evergreen members for their comments.

I decided to do some freelance features for the Times-Standard newspaper in Eureka.  I’ll be paid $25 for each feature, plus $20 for each photo.  Ugh!  What am I doing?  I feel I have to make enough with my writing to pay my expenses. Or is there another reason?  Is it to see my name in print?  It’s a sickness.  It really is a sickness.  It took five hours to write the first piece on Abe and Lisa Cho. I wonder—have I made a big mistake?

This has been a fantastic month for my writing.  I’ve done more this month than I’ve done all year.

September 4, 2002

I’m tired tonight.  I worked at my Children’s Ministry job for eight hours today and my mind is not functioning as I’d like, but I want to get things ready for the writer’s conference in Crescent City (California) this weekend. 

I submitted the 911 Dr. Asti article to The Humboldt Beacon.

I’m going to try to revise the Lily synopsis tonight for the conference, and hopefully, finish it to my satisfaction tomorrow.  I’m also doing an interview for another piece for the Times-Standard about the new track and field at Town School (Fortuna, California).

September 18, 2002

I never rewrote the Lily synopsis. 

The conference was fantastic.  Although I see that Lily needs a lot of work.  I think I’ll have to read several books before I tackle the revision.

Jean, Christine, and Sharon gave good input on the last 25 pages of Lily.  Although Sharon says it isn’t too much work, I don’t agree. I think it needs a great deal of work.  I’m trying to find all the books recommended at the conference.  I checked Amazon.com, used book stores, and the library.  I checked out a good book at the library, plus one on revision and one on editing.  I’m serious about making Lily better.

I’m also working on three newspaper articles—one for The Humboldt Beacon on Andre Kole, and two for the Times-Standard; one on the Fortuna Depot Museum and a $30,000 gift from Frank Rohner for the Rohner Room of the museum and another on the Apple Harvest Festival. (All the features written for the Times-Standard are from Fortuna, California.)

I still haven’t cleaned off my desk.  What is taking me so long?  Am I afraid that if I have a neat desk, I’ll have to go to work?  That’s crazy, because I am working.

January 4, 2003

Wow!  I can’t believe it has been so long since I worked on Lily.  In November I got my children’s writing projects ready for the children’s writer’s workshop at Big Sur, California.  At first I thought the workshop was excellent. After more thought, I was disappointed that the person (another author) did not read the synopsis of Lindsey’s Choice (middle-grade novel) and didn’t read the complete manuscript.  I wasn’t sure how she could critique the book without reading it in its entirety.

I cleaned off my desk (a major accomplishment) and bought a four drawer file cabinet, for writer’s guidelines.  Still have so many more boxes to sort.  I’ve decided instead of having manuscripts in boxes to resubmit, I will make a list of the projects and file them alphabetically; I think it’s a much better idea.  I’m really getting organized.

Read revised first chapter of Lily to Evergreen writers.  Although they think the writing is good, they think I should start the book later (not at Lily’s birth). They think chapter one could be a prologue.

January 31, 2003

Not one thing done on Lily all month.  I wrote four newspaper features and one long press release.  The press release was never published; also a short feature on St. Luke Manor was rejected by The Humboldt Beacon. 

I did get a go-ahead on my “How to be an Unforgettable Teacher” for Children’s Ministry Magazine as well as favorable comments about my piece on Tiffany Beltz for the Times-Standard.

It’s been a stressful month with my Children’s Ministry job—preparations for several meetings, especially the Sunday school meeting with a disappointing turn out.

February is a new month.  I hope to spend a couple of days next month just relaxing and not working at any job.

February 28, 2003

I’ve written nothing on Lily this month.  I wrote four articles and submitted them, sold two to the Times-Standard and one to the Humboldt Beacon.  I’m waiting to hear from the Children’s Ministry magazine, about my article. 

Kathy (daughter) visited this month and I was sick with a cold for a week.

I’m too tired tonight to get anything accomplished on Lily.  I’ll try to do some sorting instead.

April 5, 2003

I worked on four writing projects during the month of March—two for the Times-Standard and two tests for Harcourt Brace.  Gave two presentations of “How to be an Unforgettable Teacher” at the Christian Education conference at Faith Center and participated in the Fortuna Library Day at a book signing.  (I signed four copies of My Time with God and two copies of Amigos.)  It was a very good month, although nothing much done on Lily.

May 8, 2003

            I feel discouraged and stressed. Rain! Rain! Rain! Although I had a lovely birthday and spent two nights at the Benbow Inn, Royal Family Kids’ Camp, Children’s Ministry, the Christian Education Appreciation Dinner and writing assignments are too much. The house is a mess.

Published in: on April 29, 2013 at 7:31 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjbassett.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/blog-14the-writing-of-lilyan-unedited-journalblog-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

