Blog #12

The Writing of Lily

An Unedited Journal

(Blog #1 Starts in January with the Introduction) 

August 13, 2001

I read chapters 24, Lily depressed after Willy’s death, and chapter 25, Lily caring for William after his stroke, to the Evergreen Writers on Saturday.  They liked them.  I entered their editing suggestions and did a rewrite on the grieving chapter, when Lily decides to go to the Bradford Inn.

August 18, 2001

Had lunch with Deanna and Jean at Round Table Pizza and read chapter 26, the- grief chapter and Lily’s decision to go to the Bradford Inn.  I received good feedback.  I’m progressing. “Inch by inch everything is a cinch,” as Dr. Schuller would say.

September 4, 2001

I did a lot of rewriting on the Bradford Inn chapter.  I’ll probably make it two chapters.  There is too much tragedy.  I need to have some happy scenes or chapters.

Ideas:  James will have a relationship with Luke.  Luke goes over to the blind school to play with the other children.  Luke will go fishing with James during the last chapter when Lily prepares dinner for the new minister (at the end of the book).

Now I need to concentrate on writing a chapter of Lily and Sven (the man she meets at the Bradford Inn) having some fun.

September 17, 2001

So much has happened in my country since my last journal entry with the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon on September 11.  I’ve mourned for all the deaths of innocent Americans and for the loss of our way of life as I’ve known it.

As so many are saying, “It’s time to get back to life,” yet sometimes I just want to stay in bed and cover up my head, or sit and watch TV.  I am also feeling the stress of my job at Hydesville Community Church with so many needs for Sunday school teachers and people not willing to commit. Today I am at home doing what I want to do.  I thought about going to the Benbow Inn (my favorite place), but changed my mind.  I am still in my bathrobe, have watched a couple of great speeches on TV from the House of Representatives and did some editing on Lily from the Evergreen Writer’s suggestions, from our last meeting.  Now I’ll try to do some work on the Bradford Inn scene.

September 20, 2001

I completed the Bradford Inn chapter (27) today.  I’m happy with it for now.  I’ll probably need to do some revision later.

And a good start on the chapter 28.  Lily has moved in with Sven and they plan to pick up Luke in Laurel Springs and return to the Bradford Inn with him to live with them.  They are in for a fight from Harold.

September 24, 2001

I wrote chapter 31 (pre-divorce). When Lily and Sven go to Laurel Springs to pick up Luke and bring him to live with them.  They are confronted by Harold and Agatha.

If you think I’ll let my son live with you and that man, you’re wrong. . . . I’ll see you in court. Harold. (Lily pg. 144)

October 16, 2001

I must put Lily on hold for a while.  I need to work on a possible work-for-hire for Lucent Books, a biography on Leonardo DiCaprio.  I’m so excited.

I read two chapters of Lily to Evergreen Writers last Saturday, the Bradford Inn scene and the pre-divorce chapter (31).  I just entered their comments into the manuscript.  It takes a while to do it, but it is worth the effort as I feel they are making my book a better one because of their input.  Now I’ll go forward with the research and writing of the DiCaprio book.  Yippee!

Published in: on April 15, 2013 at 8:01 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bjbassett.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/109/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

